Akufo-Addo appoints 3 new Supreme Court Justices

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has appointed three Court of Appeal Justices to fill vacancies on the Supreme Court bench. They include Justice Henry Anthony Cofie, Justice Yaw Asare Darko and Justice Richard Agyei Frimpong. The appointment according to the President follows the mandatory retirement of three Justices of the apex court earlier this year.

The First Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Joseph Osei-Owusu referred the appointment of the 3 Justices to the Appointments Commitment of the House for consideration and report. The last time new appointments were made to the Supreme Court bench was in July 2022.

At the time, the list comprised of three justices of the Court of Appeal and a Justice of the High Court. The nominees from the Court of Appeal were Justice Barbara Frances Ackah-Yensu, Justice George Kingsley Koomson, and Justice Samuel Kwame Adibu Asiedu. Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu was the only nominee from the High Court.

By: Nii Ayikwei Okine

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
Verified by MonsterInsights